Books, Turning Eighteen and Disney.

Oh wow, look at me, finally updating my blog! My life since mid April has been so super busy that I haven’t had much time for myself, even though I went on Vacation!

After my last post in April I got the job I wanted, so that’s been taking up a huge chunk of my time along with school, which I finished last week! Woo! But, back in April, all of it was in full swing, I was either working at the restaurant or working on school work, I barely had anytime for reading but I did manage to finish Six of Crows for the second time!

May was INSANE! My parents surprised me with a trip to Florida, so we could visit Universal (Yes, I did spend the whole day in Harry Potter World) and Disney (I cried) for my 18th birthday! We drove down, hitting as may states as we could on the way down from Canada and on the way back up, the scenery was stunning, and even the days we spent in the car were amazing, we spent so much time talking and enjoying each others company

We stayed in a super pretty Westgate resort, they had a little lake with swans and ducks, mini golf, like 13 pools and a really nice restaurant, which was next to the ice cream place! The first full day we were in Florida we went to Universal, and when I tell you that Harry Potter world is SO worth the money and trip, I fully mean it.

Everything was perfect, the shops, the workers, the CASTLE. Walking into Diagon Alley for the first time, I cried, it was like stepping straight into one of the Potter books. We went straight to Ollivanders before it got too busy and picked my wand, I went for the new Collectors Edition interactive one!

As the day wore on at Universal I got to see pretty much everything, I went of both of the indoor Harry Potter rides, and the forbidden journey was absolutely bloody fantastic. I found out that the bathrooms by the owlery plays an audio of Moaning Myrtle, and that literally everyone there is willing to strike up a conversation about our fave witches and wizards.

So, over all, Harry potter world was a complete success, though we didn’t stay for the light show, I left feeling like I had belonged somewhere for a day.

We spent our second relaxing by the pool and having quality family time, and though I got heat stroke and a MAJOR sunburn half way through the day, and we had to retire to the room a lot earlier than I had planned, we still had an amazing day. I did get a lot of reading down whilst by the pool and while we were back at the room, though I did most of my reading in the car journey home. More on that later though! Keep reading!

Rainbow added by little old me ❤

Our third day was Disney! We just went to Magic Kingdom but oh my god was it amazing, the castle is BEAUTIFUL, the shows they put on during the day are amazing, though I only caught bits of them as we walked around the park, but we did catch all of the park opening show with all of the characters and the final fireworks and lights show!

We didn’t do many rides at the park, I’m not really much of a rides gal, and there was so much of the park that I wanted to walk around and see, that stopping for an hour per 5 minute ride wouldn’t of really been worth it for me. I got to see the whole of Magic Kingdom, I met Cinderella and Tinker Bell, I fawned over Jasmine and Flynn Rider at a distance, I would of full on sobbed if I had actually met either of them, and that folks, is not a good look!

The fireworks display was incredible, if you had told me two months ago that I would have so many emotions due flashed of light in the sky I would of probably laughed my self silly. But man, oh boy, did I sob. Disney was always a dream to me, that’s all I ever thought it would be, it didn’t really truly set in that I was really at Disney world until then, and it was a feeling of pure and raw happiness. It truly is magic in that park.

Now, what is this blog based around? BOOKS! I read a total of three full books whilst on vacation, in this order. A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Maas, A Court of Wings and Ruin – Sarah J Maas and finally The King – J.R Ward! All of these I read in the car travelling there but most on the way back! I also got half way through Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, but since I’ve been back from my trip I’ve been way too busy with work to be able to actually sit down and spend time reading.

My goal for this summer is to get though the rest of my Goodreads reading challenge, which is set at 50, and I’ve already gotten 37 down! Though I’m ging to be leaving my official challenge at 50, I’m shooting for the 75 book range when it comes to my reading goal, and I know I can knock a lot down over the summer, seeing as I don’t really go out much!

Also, yes! I turned eighteen on the 27th! No, I don’t feel any different, and I most definitely don’t feel like an adult, but I’ll try my best to act like one! (not)

I hope you’ve all had an amazing few months, and I’ll get back to ya soon, byeya!
Cliona

Leave a comment