A Curse so Dark and Lonely, by Brigid Kemmerer.

How many times have I read A Curse so Dark and Lonely? If I’m completely honest, I’ve lost count. Along with Brigid Kemmerer being an absolute angel of a person, she has written, in my opinion, one of the best fairy-tale retellings that’s out on the YA fantasy shelves right now, and definitely the best one on mine.

Starting off with the basics, the super public things that most people know about this book without having to read it. Her representation of disability and sexuality are amazing. They’re worked into the book without feeling like a marketing tool, they were only parts of a characters framework, instead of being the ENTIRE character.

Harper, the most bad ass, well written protagonist I’ve had the pleasure of reading recently is 18 and has cerebral palsy, who is sucked from one nightmare to another in the beginning of this novel. Without spoiling the book for anyone, Harper definitely has no issues standing her own against a cursed crowned prince and a scary guard commander. She’s strong willed, strong mind and by the end of the book, I’d argue to say strong bodied as well. She cares deeply, her family was a huge reoccurring theme throughout the story, and hates just as deeply as well, cough cough, Lilith.

Rhen Rhen Rhen. The crowned prince of Emberfall and an expert card player. I do love what Brigid did with the curse in her retelling, it made it new and exciting, season after season, new beast each time, different girl each time, that idea in itself is so amazing and Rhen was the perfect form of “Beast” for that story line. Though he can be a total royal pain in everyone’s ass, and I’m still not sure he knows the word “Please”, he is a complete prince charming through and through.

Commander Grey, Scary Grey, the most loyal and brave character in this entire world, if I were straight I would be head over heels for this fictional man. Though my brain always goes to his amazing knife throwing skills, and how much I want a lesson, he does have many more valuable qualities. He also is very good at cards, he is kind and honest and unbelievably, I will state again, loyal.

A Curse so Dark and Lonely was my 39th read of 2019 and it was without a doubt a five star read.

Leave a comment